doll ordering high

April 19, 2021

I found the bushes outside my house blooming. I got some lens flare in the second photo, but I'm not sure if it's because it's an old lens with an old coating or if a lens hoods are needed on modern lenses. Either way it's fun and I'm not worried about technically good photos if I'm just goofing off.

I stayed up til midnight and ordered Lieselotte as soon as she was available. I'll just spend the next 6 months trying to come up with a name for her. The last doll I bought (my DDS) was in 2014 and the last doll I actually bought from the company and did the full wait for was my Littlefee in 2010. I don't feel so terrible for spending so much because I've been so good the past few years. I was actually expecting her to be more tbh...

I see some people on the doll forums saying they ordered one (or two) of the girls and just charged it to their credit cards even though they can't afford them. I hope they're exaggerating and aren't making terrible finanical decisions for pieces of resin.

When I was younger I thought I'd never be able to buy a Volks doll, that Volks owners were elitist, and that they weren't worth MSRP. In my local community, we had tons of dolls from all sorts of companies, but only one woman owned a single Volks doll! Now I only look at Japanese dolls and ignore the Korean and Chinese ones. I am the scary Volks elitist now! And my best friend owns a DD too!!

Even with my elitism, I'd honestly love to buy another Bluefairy girl. For some reason the company decided to upgrade to the "neo" body, which I'm not particularly a fan of. I'm not against finding one second hand with the old body though. The old body is just classic!